Honorary Degree

Our region thrives thanks to the contributions of many people who share their knowledge, passion, and energy. Each year, Medicine Hat College recognizes these contributions by presenting an honorary applied degree at our convocation ceremony.

We encourage you to recognize an outstanding citizen who exemplifies community contribution by providing a nomination for this honour. Traits to consider include achievement and distinction in scholarship, the advancement of learning, welfare and social responsibility, creativity and innovation, enterprise, and public service.

Candidates who have agreed to accept an honorary degree are asked to attend and address the next convocation ceremony.


Past recipients

We thank our honorary degree recipients for their service to our community:

2022: Elder Charlie Fox

2021: Gerry Labas

2020: David J. Carter

2019: Parvin Camphor

2018: Lorne Taylor

2017: Bill Yuill

2016: Austin Curtin and Dr. John H.M. (Jack) Snedden

2015: Dr. Larry Henderson

2013: Rob Renner

2012: Dr. Roy Wilson

2011: Dr. Richard and Mrs. Deborah Northcott

2010: Bob Porter

2009: Dr. John Moldon

2008: Dr. Ken Sauer

2007: Jim Horsman

2006: Randy Eresman

2005: Terry Brekko