News and Events

MHC announces recipients of the honorary applied baccalaureate degree

March 29, 2016

Medicine Hat College (MHC) has selected two recipients for the 2016 honorary applied baccalaureate degree, retired dentist Dr. John H.M. (Jack) Snedden as well as entrepreneur and humanitarian Austin Curtin.

The recipients will accept the honour during the college’s convocation ceremonies on June 3, 2016 and will be recognized at MHC’s first annual Pathways Gala on June 4.

“Mr. Curtin and Dr. Snedden have both been huge advocates of education, and supporters of both the college and the communities within our region,” says Dr. Denise Henning, president and CEO. “We felt it was appropriate to highlight both of them in our 50th year.”

Curtin is a past member of MHC’s board of governors, and was named MHC’s Business Person of the Year in 2014. He recently retired after owning and operating several Canadian Tire locations including stores in Medicine Hat, Brooks and Cold Lake, Alberta.

In January 2014 the Canadian Tire Corporation donated $50,000 to MHC’s Enactus chapter in honour of Curtin. He has provided ongoing support to the community and served as a mentor in the business world.

Dr. Snedden is a retired dentist and former partner of River Centre Dental. He was the president of the Medicine Hat Kinsmen Club, member of the Rotary Club and chairman of the National Convention. He was also a past president of the Cypress Club and the Medicine Hat Curling Club.

In 1967, when the college was still housed at Medicine Hat High School as a junior college, Dr. Snedden joined the board of governors as chair. He was deeply involved in the planning and relocation of MHC as it stands today.

“We’re excited about this year’s celebration. It’s a monumental time and we’re happy to be able to recognize these deserving individuals during our 50th anniversary year. Convocation is such an important event for us, and our first Pathways Gala presents a new opportunity to celebrate education and all the benefits it brings. We are excited and honoured to have both Mr. Curtin and Dr. Snedden recognized during these momentous events,” says Henning.

Curtin and Dr. Snedden will be following in the footsteps of Dr. Larry Henderson, Rob Renner, Dr. Roy Wilson, Dr. Richard and Deborah Northcott, Bob Porter, Dr. John Moldon, Dr. Ken Sauer, Jim Horsman, Randy Eresman, and Terry Brekko.