News and Events

Public asked for Honorary Applied Degree nominations

January 18, 2018
Social responsibility, advancement of learning, creativity and innovation are some of the criteria being sought for this year’s Honorary Applied Degree recipient at Medicine Hat College (MHC).

The Board of Governors recently opened up the nomination process to the public in hopes to find a candidate to be recognized at convocation - and the Pathways Gala - on June 8, 2018.

“Convocation is already a time of celebration, so it makes sense to highlight an individual who is making a difference in our region,” says Dr. Denise Henning, president and CEO. “We’ve been fortunate to have some inspiring leaders from different backgrounds, ranging from education to business, take part in the ceremony and share their words of encouragement with our grads. We are excited to continue this tradition.”

The honorary degree was first presented in 2005. Last year’s recipient was Bill Yuill, a business person and philanthropist. He followed in the footsteps of Dr. Larry Henderson, Austin Curtin and Dr. John H.M. (Jack) Snedden, Rob Renner, Dr. Roy Wilson, Dr. Richard and Deborah Northcott, Bob Porter, Dr. John Moldon, Dr. Ken Sauer, Jim Horsman, Randy Eresman, and Terry Brekko.

“This is one of the highest honours that we can give, so we look forward to seeing who this year’s recipient will be,” says Dr. Henning.  “We really want to encourage all of the communities in southeast Alberta to consider nominating someone.”

The application deadline is February 9, 2018. A nomination can be downloaded at All information submitted is confidential. If you have any questions contact Troy Tait, executive advisor at 403.529.3800 or